Alliance Française To Honor Barnes Foundation Head

Filed under: Featured News,Subject Categories |

The Alliance Française de Philadelphie will honor Derek Gillman, of Merion, president of the Barnes Foundation, with its Ambassador of the Arts Award at the annual Bastille Day dinner event on Jul. 14 at the Independence Seaport Museum.
Nancy Gabel, of Wynnewood, VP of the Alliance Française and chair of the Bastille Day event, announced the schedule: At 7:00 p.m. there will be a cocktail reception, followed by a buffet dinner by Brulee Catering and Chef Jean-Merie Lacroix.

DEREK GILLMAN, president of Barnes Foundation, will receive Ambassador of the Arts Award from Alliance Française de Philadelphie at annual Bastille Day event.

There will be dancing under the stars with live music by the Fred Hall Orchestra and Susan Gay, of Bryn Mawr, as vocalist. There is also an open bar. There is a large silent auction, and the raffle prize is two round-trip tickets to Paris on Delta-KLM-AirFrance-Alitalia.
Gillman was appointed president of the Barnes Foundation in October 2006. From 2001-06 he held the position of president and director of the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, where he oversaw the celebration of the institution’s 200th anniversary in 2005. Prior to moving to the Academy as Executive Director and Provost in 1999, Gillman served as deputy director of the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, Australia’s largest encyclopedic art museum. From 1985-1995 he was keeper (equivalent to director) of the Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts at the University of East Anglia, Norwich, England, which houses the Robert & Lisa Sainsbury Collection of modern art, antiquities, and the arts of Africa, the Pacific region and the Americas.

Since its founding in 1903, the Philadelphia Chapter of the Alliance Française (nonprofit) has encouraged the study of the French language and literature, promoted French culture and fostered friendly relations between France and the United States with a uniquely Philadelphia touch, style and tradition.
Members of the Honorary Committee include the Hon. Michael E. Scullin, honorary Consul of France in Philadelphia & Wilmington; Diana M. Regan, president of the Alliance Française; Councilwoman Blondell Reynolds Brown; Donald R. Caldwell; US Sen. Robert P. Casey; State Sen. Daylin Leach; Congressman Patrick Meehan; Leslie Miller and Richard Worley; Mayor Michael A. Nutter; Hon. Edward G. Rendell; State Rep. James R. Roebuck; Dr. Neil L. Rudenstine; Congresswoman Allyson Schwartz; Hon. Arlen Specter; and Joseph Zuritsky.
Sponsors of the event include Arkema, Trois Petits Cochons and Lillet.
For tickets and information call (215) 735-5283 or visit the website at

SEEN HERE at planning meeting at Barnes offices are, from left, Martine Chauvet, executive director of Alliance Française; Andrew Stewart, director of communications for Barnes Foundation; and Nancy Gabel, of Wynnewood, VP of Alliance Française and chair of Bastille Day event. Bonnie Squires (c) 2012 /Public Record

Join over 3.000 visitors who are receiving our newsletter and learn how to optimize your blog for search engines, find free traffic, and monetize your website.
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.
Share    Send article as PDF   

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *